Project 3 Photodesign

P3AllisonHoutz

 

  1. Description: For this project we needed to learn basic photography skills, pick a color scheme and then take photos that correspond with that color, use Photoshop to edit the picture and create a poster layout with an original photo.
  1. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I spend a lot of time in the Scroll office and these three ceramic pieces are things I look at often. I wanted to photograph and I picked my color scheme around them. To be honest I had three or four different color schemes I wanted to try and I settled on the analogous with orange, gold and brick. To take the photo I used my friend Lindsey’s t3i Canon Rebel. I had fun trying to work that camera. I love the look that the natural light has on the ceramic pieces I photographed. After I finished taking the pictures I downloaded them and edited them in Photoshop. The specific editing techniques I used were: levels, sharpness, saturation and color balance. While using Photoshop “command t” became my best friend as well as my coworker Willy, since he is a Photoshop guru. I had drafted multiple layouts for this photo and some of them depressed me. I had a ridiculously hard time with Photoshop but I made it through! I had planned to list the colors of the swatches with in the rectangles themselves but I liked having the small squares on the left of the picture. I wanted to use the rectangles because it would work well with the ceramic piece that had lines on it. I believe it contrasts well with the other two pieces that have no specific set of lines.
  1. Message: I wanted a poster that would be for the BYU-Idaho ceramics group. I also wanted to make sure my color scheme to show my understanding of the color wheel.
  1. Audience: BYU-Idaho students who like ceramics
  1. Top Thing Learned: I learned how to take pictures with a DSLR camera, photographing things around a specific color scheme and how function while using Photoshop.
  1. Color scheme and color names: My color scheme is analogous. The colors I use are gold, brick and orange.
  1. Title Font Name & Category: Century Gothic Sans Serif
  1. Copy Font Name & Category: Century Gothic Sans Serif
  1. Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

lightINSIDE

Date and location you took the photo(s): Feb. 5, 2015 in the Scroll Office in the Spori

One Comment Add yours

  1. settilarson says:

    I love the contrast in your photo. I think that the texture of the different pieces of artwork is great. One is dry, dull, and textured while the others are smooth, shiny, and glossy. I think this contrast works well for the photo. I love your color scheme, I think it is complementary to the picture. Also the lighting is great. Awesome job, I think you have a cohesive project.

    https://lisettelarson.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Like

Leave a comment