Project Two: Event Ad

Link to Event Ad: P2AllisonHoutz

    • Description: For this project we had to create and Event Ad in Microsoft Word. We had to come up with a fictional event/place/time/etc. as well as scan the picture for the project.
    • Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): We used Microsoft Word in the Publishing Layout. We had to scan in a photo for the project itself. I started with doodles for the FOCUS principles. I asked myself: What kind of event would I want to go to? The answer: something with furniture. So I planned my message around that but I aimed for an older crowd. After I got that I went and looked for pictures to plan around and pick my colors. I chose shapes that matched the picture for flow, gestalt, etc. When I finished with that I tried out different types and found two that felt right for not only the ad but also the Event’s subject matter.
    • Message: The message is an invitation to an annual furniture auction at The Edward’s House: Historic Boutique in Fort Collins, Colorado.
    • Audience: The audience is for a people age 25-45ish. For people who like gently used/nice furniture.
    • Color scheme and color names: Monochromatic: Green
    • Top Thing Learned: That I hate word and prefer InDesign. I also enjoyed learning how to scan in the necessary pictures for the project. That was the part that I worried about most for this project.
    • Title Font Name & Category: American Typewriter: Serif Slab
    • Copy Font Name & Category: Century Gothic : Sans Serif Modern
    • Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: I used one scanned photo for this project from “Romantic Homes” Magazine, it’s original size was 4×6 and I used the Epson Perfection V600 in the Spori Lab.

     

  1. Typography
    • No more than 2 fonts • Contrasting fonts • Title size/font contrast • Appropriate leading/kerning/tracking • Easy to read • Text spacing in box • Text not to close to edges of page or other elements • Proportional text (not squished or stretched)
    • Small body copy (10-12pt) • Benefactor/Beneficiary • Date/Time/Place/Price • No widows • No orphans • No underlining • No hyphens • Consistent paragraph alignment/indenting/spacing
    • Appropriate caps • Correct spelling / punctuation / grammar

     

  2. Images / Graphics

    Scan quality • Proportional (not squished or stretched) • Appropriate crop • Quality resolution • No Photoshop

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Travis Barker says:

    Wow Allison I really think your event ad is very good. It is very inviting and fun. I really like the picture you chose because it feels homey and makes me want a piece of good furniture in my home. I like the feel of the body copy and the design of the text boxes. I also feel the typography and colors are warm and inviting as well. Good job!

    Check out mine at:
    https://travisbarkercomm.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/project-2-event-ad/

    Like

  2. Allizon, I agree that your project has good gestalt. I feel like the arrows you used were subtle yet very meaningful in directing the flow of your message. Good job! I also feel like your choice in a monochromatic color scheme was well suited for the scanned image that you selected. It was very easy for me to understand the message and to see the hierarchy in your design. One element that really pulled your design together was your use of a slab serif title copy with your body copy, there is good contrast there which reflects well on the other elements that contrast in your design. Go check out my blog and tell me what you think! https://dbradleymemmott.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Like

  3. fdlemmo says:

    Your ad is spectacular. First the image is great and I love the rustic feel is gives off. Second your color scheme really worked well and the greens contrast against the white piece of furniture great. Thirdly, your horizontal lines are clean and add to a great design.

    freddylemmo.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. cierasprague says:

    Your even ad is fantastic!! I love the image that you used, it brings a since of rustic and vintage feel to your design. Your color scheme also follows this pattern of your photo! Overall your design is amazing and will catch the eye of your audience. https://cierasprague.wordpress.com/

    Like

  5. abbynelson13 says:

    Allison, I really like the overall look of your flyer. It has great gestalt. I like the color scheme you chose. I like how the fonts you chose have a rustic feel that is felt throughout the picture also. I really like how instead of just using squares you changes them and added the points to them; it keeps you eye moving as it follows the repetition. Check out mine: https://abbynelson13.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment